RSS

Clothing malfunction?

03 Feb

When I weighed 60 pounds more than I do right now, I knew how to shop.  I knew which clothes to buy, knowing they would shrink, and if they then would show off too much of my extra weight.  I didn’t necessarily like how heavy I was, but I grew to know what I could wear and couldn’t wear.

Now, I’m in a bit of trouble.  Pants are no trouble at all.  I know what I can wear there, and when I bring them home there is no change.  But tops?  That’s a different matter altogether!!!

I bought a few new tops for teaching last fall.  The medium and large sizes felt like they were too tight on me, so I got an XL.  I thought for sure they would shrink, and therefore would not look too big.  NOPE!!!  They did the opposite…they stretched out.  Yikes!

For my birthday I bought a few new tops for teaching as well, and I had hoped I would have better success than before.  A cool-looking zip up thingy looks great right now.  I’m kinda scared to wash it though.  It’s a small, so if I accidentally shrink it, I’m sunk.

I bought another shirt that was a medium, and it fit very nice.  Snug in all the right places without showing too much.  Well….I washed it alone, in cold, and only threw it in the dryer for about 25 minutes.  Apparently, that was too long.  When I put it back on, it had shrunk at least a size!  Now, instead of something that was nice and flattering, I had something that looked like I poured myself into a child-sized shirt!

I do have one shirt that I was successful in washing and not destroying right away.  It’s a nice button-up shirt that has a cut that shows my new-found curves.  I really like wearing that shirt.  🙂

All told, I’m needing to figure out how to buy for my new size.  I don’t want something that covers me up, but I do have the girls still, and so need to take them into account.  I hate bringing things home and them not fitting as well as they did in the store.  If I had a ton of time and money, I’m sure I could figure it out.

Until then, I will continue to LOVE the fact that Kohl’s has a great return policy.  🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 3, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

One response to “Clothing malfunction?

  1. Dawn

    February 3, 2011 at 1:20 am

    Hi Pam,
    Happy Wednesday! :0) For the shirt you washed and dried for 25 min. and it shrink a size- rewash on the gentle cycle in cold- it will come back to its original size. What typ of material is it made from? If it is cotton- ALL cotton products- when washed in warm or dried completely shrink a size or two. You may want to dry them until they are almost dry but are slightly damp and then let them air dry from there. Most polyester, rayon, and nylon products can be dried on a low setting/or air dried and bounce right back to their normal size. I hope this helps. :0)
    Have a GREAT day! :0)
    Dawn

     

Leave a Reply

 
