RSS

Temper-tantrum

16 Feb

I’m not proud of the fact, but I did in fact throw a temper-tantrum last night.  It was after the kids went to bed, and I was trying to get the TV set up to watch a favorite show of mine (setting up the TV means getting the antennae set just right and hoping the signal stays strong!).  For the second night in a row, I couldn’t find the remote that would turn on the converter box which would allow me to pick up the channel.  The night before I was okay with it…I just read and went to bed early.  But this night?  I was pissed!

For me, watching a TV show after the kids go to bed is my “down” time.  It’s when I can shut the world off, and relax.  I have not found anything yet (after 8 months without cable) that truly lets my brain decompress after a busy day.  If my husband is home, talking with him is great.  But when he’s not, and I’ve been a single parent that day and possibly taught other people’s kids, a time to just veg out is a great way for me to unwind.

So last night, I couldn’t find the remote.  Again.  As I walked around the family room, I started in with God.  “Come on God.  I just want to watch my show!  Please help me find the remote!”  When that didn’t result in any remote being found, I stomped a bit harder.  “God, I’m just getting pissed.  Yes, I’m throwing a temper-tantrum!  But you know how this unwinds me!  COME ON!”  I sat on the couch, and pouted.  I contemplated throwing the flashlight in my hand into the couch as a show of my utter frustration.  I sulked.  I knew where the remote should have been, and was not.

I took one last deep breath, and looked once more where I thought the remote was.  Shining the flashlight towards the ground, I found it peeking out of a pumpkin basket, where my daughter must have placed it.  Deep sigh, and then, in a subdued and embarrassed voice………..

“Thanks God.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

2 responses to “Temper-tantrum

  1. heather b

    February 16, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    funny. I threw one the other day and instead of relief, I was just embarrassed. Were you trying to get NCIS?

     
  2. newfoundsun

    February 16, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    YES!!! They are building up to something, and I didn’t want to miss it (regardless of Hulu.com!). I think one of the main characters is leaving, my gut says Tony. They seem to be moving in that direction, for another major “shift” to shake things up!

     

Leave a Reply

 
