RSS

“What kind of mom are you???”

18 Feb

Okay, before my friends get their talons up in my defense, let me say this:  the person who said this to me today was making a joke.  It was not said in an accusatory fashion, and I happen to know this is a VERY kind and caring person.

So what IS the context of this comment said to me today?

Well, we were talking about my son’s upcoming birthday party, and what kind of toys he likes.  I said that he does like a certain superhero, and this person asked what kinds of toys my son had that went along with this character.  Well, my son only has a few action figures, so that’s what I said.  This person looked at me in amazement that my son did not have THE toy that is absolutely essential to being this superhero.  Without this piece of equipment, this superhero does not exist.  Her boy has 3 different versions of this toy, it is that essential to the imaginary play that goes along with this character.  So, in jest, she looked at me and made this comment.  I laughed about it, because it was a light moment, and I just shrugged my shoulders and changed the direction of the conversation.

I guess why I’m blogging about it is to make people think.  Again, I like this person and no harm was meant by her comment.  But you never know what the circumstances are of someone’s life.  For my son, we have not had an extra $20 this past year to buy him this essential toy.  Birthday and Christmas presents were able to be bought only because of generous grandparents.

Am I sad that my son doesn’t have the latest and greatest toy?

Not in the least.

I love the way my daughter and son love to play with each other.  I am constantly amazed at how creative they can be with just the ordinary things around the house.

Do I wish I could buy them all these neat toys?

Yes.  What mom wouldn’t want to give everything to her kids?

But I’m okay knowing that, through these difficult financial times, I have continued to give my kids what matters most:

My heart and my love.

Ask them.  They know, without any doubt in their minds, that their mama loves them and would give them the world if she could.

And that, to me, is worth more than any plastic toy from China any day of the week.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

2 responses to ““What kind of mom are you???”

  1. julie

    February 18, 2011 at 4:30 am

    You are an awesome mom. The love toy give will last longer than any toy.

     
  2. Clarke

    February 18, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    We buy are son nice toys, but they can not compete with left over containers and sticks and found objects.

     

Leave a Reply

 
