RSS

Grace

01 Mar

About a month ago I was driving around and this started to come to me.  Not sure if it’s a song, or just a poem.  Yes, some of it can be specific to us, but it’s also just a statement about what a lot of us are going through right now, and the hope that we have.

Grace

The note on the door says that you must move

This house that you love you are gonna lose

Keep the light on for just one more night

Is this what you would call an abundant life?

Markets crash and houses fade away

The hope of a life starts to color gray

The man on the street waves his desperate sign

You wonder if that’s you in two months time

 

What am I doing here in this life?

What am I doing here this dark night?

Scorned and rejected, beaten and alone

This is not the world that I want to call home

How many days ’till I’m all gone?

How many ways can I hang on?

This is not the world that I want to call home

When God, when, will you call me to your throne?

 

I see a man in a garden falling on his knees

Crying bloody tears saying, “please, God, please

If it’s your will don’t make me go through

All these things you have asked me to do

Pain and strife and the agony within

Taking into me all the uglies of their sin

But for your glory I will bend the knee

I will choose to be their one true King

 

What am I doing here in this life?

What am I doing here this dark night?

Scorned and rejected, beaten and alone

This is not the world that I want to call home

How many days ’till I’m all gone?

How many ways can I hang on?

This is not the world that I want to call home

When God, when will you set me on my throne?

 

Grace abounds from the tear streaked face

Love shines down in that darkest place

Jesus died alone where no King should

Nailed hand and foot to the splintered wood

With one cry it was said and done

Your sin is gone and the battle is won

So live your life in the freedom He gained

And don’t forget the price that your Savior paid

 

What am I doing here in this life?

What am I doing here this dark night?

Loved and forgiven, accepted and redeemed

To shine his light….I am truly free!

How many ways can I show his love?

How many days ’till I see his face above?

This is not the world that I want to call home

But here’s where I’ll serve ’till you call me to your throne

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 1, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
