RSS

Laura, 1

02 Mar

Well, the journey has truly begun.  I don’t know where this road will take us.  Some might call me stupid, or a dreamer.

I call myself a believer in the impossible.

What is this impossible dream?  It’s simply a dream to change the world.  To give hope and light to many.  To inspire people to keep fighting, and not give up.

My daughter Laura will be attending an acting convention in LA this summer.  It’s not a flash in the pan, or a dream in something that will never happen.  How do I know this?

Because I know the potential that is in my daughter.  I can’t explain it very well in words, but I know that God has great plans for her.  The life and light that she brings to any person she touches is simply…….amazing.

When I was pregnant with Laura I was depressed.  I didn’t want to take meds for it, and I was worried that the depression would carry over into my baby.  I remember sitting at the doctor’s office for a check-up and asked him, “will my baby be depressed?”  He assured me that depression was not a disease that would be transferred like others through a mother to her child.  From that moment, I knew something changed.  I was no longer fearful for the life within me, but chose joy instead.  I began to call Laura “my joy” before she was even born, and I continue to call her that.  Not that I need her to be the hope and the light for my life.  But simply because I knew she would be full of joy and life.  And boy, is she!  This girl wakes up in the morning with a smile on her face, and doesn’t stop shining until her eyes close at night.

This convention is big.  There is a lot of potential in going to this.

But some may ask, why now?  The journey of our family these past few years has not been easy, and to add something of this caliber to the mix could be called crazy.

And I say back, why not now?

There is a story of hope being written here.  Not by me, but by God.  Who can say that Laura was not born at this time, for such a time as this?  Who can say that HER story will not draw scores of people to the Light of this world?

When we first started acting classes and auditions, I bought clothes for the kids, and then promptly took them back to the store.  I didn’t want to be dishonest, but I simply could not afford to buy a $20 shirt that they wear once a month.  So, they would wear it once for an hour, and then I would take it back.

For the past 3 months I’ve glued Laura’s only good pair of dress shoes together each time we go to auditions.  They are black boots, and look really good on her.  But they are falling apart, literally.  Don’t look too close or you will see the soles coming off and the sharpie marks from where I colored in the worn out parts.  I can’t buy new boots, because I can’t take them back.  And dress shoes for kids can cost a lot of money.

A month ago we drove to Seattle for the audition that ultimately ended up in Laura being accepted to this convention.  On the way there we stopped by the bank and turned in the family car.  We could no longer afford the payments, and they were going to come and repossess it, so we voluntarily took it back to them.

Papers are being served at our doorstep.  Notices of utilities being shut-off are sent in the mail.  A sale date of mid-May is set for our house at foreclosure auction.

So why on earth are we going to LA???????

Because we believe in what God has given us, and we believe in the ability of our children to change the world.  If you’ve ever met my kids, you understand.  If you’ve ever had an encounter with Laura, you get it.  There is a sparkle and a life within her being that you can’t help but be touched by.  You can’t put your finger on it, but you know you are drawn to it and don’t want to leave.

My daughter will change the world.  I don’t know how.  I don’t know when.  I simply know this is the first step.

I’m choosing to believe in the impossible.

Will you join me?

www.lauramweaver.com

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 2, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
