RSS

Sick, update

27 Mar

Well, this has turned into a nasty bugger!  I’m really wondering now if this whole Crohn’s thing has messed with my body’s ability to fight off a simple cold.  In the past, IF I even got sick (literally, I would get a sniffle every couple of years, and that would be it), it would last a day, 3 at the most.  This is the worst cold I’ve had in I don’t know how long.  I guess I take comfort in the fact that most colds last 7-10 days, and I’m on day 6.  SO…..hopefully I’ll see the end of the tunnel soon!

Thankfully I’ve not felt an increase in Crohn’s symptoms.  It really has been just the cough, runny nose, watery eyes, etc. but with no fever.  I shake my head at such a simple cold, and how my body was able to fight it in the past.  I’m thankful though that so far it has not made the digestive problems any worse.

Today I went to church, even though the rest of the world would have told me to stay home and rest.  Why did I go?  Because I refuse to let something like this stand in the way of my worship with a community of believers.  I am a FIRM believer in putting the positive in your life, and I knew that getting a good dose of “God” today at my church was what my spirit needed.  For me, to stay home would have been to admit defeat, and could have opened a door for negative thoughts and feelings.  So, I pulled on my boots, grabbed my tissues and water, and off I went!  Though I couldn’t sing the songs the way I normally would, the worship time was still sweet.  Sometimes when you are a singer, the most powerful worship is when you are silent and communicate straight from your heart.  It was a sweet time today.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
