RSS

Strawberry Scones

21 Apr

Did you know that Almond Flour is extremely easy to bake with?  Though it doesn’t “poof up” like white-flour bread products, it still has a great taste and is amazingly good for you!  Most almond flour recipes I’ve encountered have a few basic ingredients:  Almond Flour, sea salt, baking soda, and eggs.  Out of these ingredients I can make just about anything.  If you add honey, it makes a sweet treat.  Grapeseed oil can add a level of moistness that I haven’t seen in a long time.  And any sort of spices, fruits, and even chocolate can be added to change it up a bit.  Almond flour is low-carb, high in protein, and rich in vitamins, minerals, and good fats.  In short, it is a great alternative to processed, white-flour products!  Almond flour can be expensive though, so I have to be careful not to overdo it.  Honeyville is a great place to buy almond flour online.  If you bake with it a lot, buying the 25 pound box is a great deal.  Simply separate it out into gallon-freezer bags when it comes, stick the extras in the freezer, and you have months of almond flour on hand for those sweet treats you are craving for!

So today I wanted to make scones.  I couldn’t add the chocolate like the recipe calls for, so instead I decided to chop up some fresh strawberries and fold them in.  I made a half-batch…just enough treats for me for a few days.  I’d take a picture, but to do that I would have to stop eating them long enough to get one!  🙂

Here’s what I did:

1 1/4 cups almond flour

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 cup honey

1/6 cup of grapeseed oil

1 egg

1 cup chopped fresh strawberries

Add the dry ingredients together.  Then add the wet ingredients, including the egg, and whisk well.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry, and mix will.  Fold in the strawberries.  Drop by 1/4 cup spoonfuls on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake in the oven at 350 for about 15 minutes, or until the tops just start to get a good brown.

That’s it!  Bake these treats, and enjoy them with your coffee or tea in the morning.

I am.  🙂

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
