RSS

Citrus Chicken Stir-fry

03 May

I wanted to challenge my kids’ “view” of what food should look like tonight, so decided on a stir-fry.  I thought a combination of citrus fruit balanced out with honey and other things would work well for a marinade, and it did!  Both kids loved dinner, even thought it didn’t “look” like it normally does.  🙂  I think this summer the following marinade will be great with chicken on kabobs on the grill!  BTW….my measurements for the marinade are approximate.  I never measure with my marinades, instead going by taste and smell to determine if I should add more or less of something!

Here’s what I did:

2 pounds of boneless/skinless chicken breasts, cut up small

Carrots

Broccoli

Marinade:

Juice of one lemon and one orange

1 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar

1/4 Olive Oil

1/8 cup honey (or more to taste)

Salt and pepper

Marinade chicken pieces in marinade for as long as you want (I did 3 hours).  Heat up oil and cook chicken until it’s no longer pink.  Add carrots, cover, and simmer for 2-3 minutes.  Add broccoli and continue to simmer for about 4-5 minutes.  Serve with whatever sides you want!

I served my dinner with whole-wheat noodles instead of rice (my kids still don’t like rice all that much) and baked apples.  All total, it took me just 20 minutes to make this dinner and get in on the table.  And with everyone liking it?  Success!!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 3, 2011 in Crohn's Journal, Main Dishes, Recipes

 

One response to “Citrus Chicken Stir-fry

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

    May 3, 2011 at 1:40 am

    Great recipe. I love citrus and orange together!

     

Leave a Reply

 
