RSS

I will remain….

04 May

Last Christmas we gave our daughter her first “real” Bible.  In the beginning of the Bible, we wrote a note to her, and decided on Psalm 27 as her life chapter.  There are so many things about this chapter in the Bible that are awesome.  I love it that she has part of it memorized, and recites it when I ask her to remember those truths.  “The Lord is my light and salvation.  Whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the stronghold of my life.  Of whom shall I be afraid?”

We sing a song at church that is based on this chapter.  I love the song.  I can sing it with a deep-seeded belief that everything will be okay.  I put all my cares and worries to God while singing it and remember the truths for long afterwards as the song rings in my heart.  With everything that is pouring down around my family right now, namely the May 13th sale date of our house at foreclosure, I have found comfort in this song, and in remembering this chapter of Psalms.

The verse that I keep coming back to for me though is at the end.  It says, “I will remain confident in this: I will see the goodness of the Lord while in the land of the living.

What I love about this verse is that God didn’t leave it hanging out there.  He didn’t have the author write, “I will see the goodness of the Lord….eventually.”  Or, “I will see the goodness of the Lord when I get to heaven.”

No.

He wrote that we will see the goodness of the Lord while still here on earth.

We think we are going to be able to save our house.  We have some plans in the works that should result in favor and a good outcome, and I hope to blog on those soon.

But my confidence is not in earthly schemes.

My confidence and my hope is in the fact that God promises to me that I will see the goodness of the Lord right here, right now.  I don’t have to wait until I die.  I don’t have to wait until the whole world falls down around me.  God loves me, He cherishes me, and He wants to bless me and my family.

Yes, we may lose our house.

But that does not mean that God has given up on us.  It does not mean that my confidence in Him was misplaced.

It simply means that He has different plans for us.

And since I know His goodness will pour out over my family?

I know it will all be okay.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
