RSS

“Good…..fine….”

20 May

What do these two words mean?  I’ve been in circles before where, when asked how someone is doing, the answer would always be “good” or “fine” no matter what was really going on in that person’s life.  It was as if there was an unspoken rule that we couldn’t be real with each other and truly share what was going on in life at that moment.

I just want to take a moment to clarify what “good” means when I say it.

First off, it’s not just an empty word for me.  When I look around me at all that I have, life truly is good.  I’ve been blessed with a lot, and don’t lack much. 

But second, and most important, is this……I will say that I am “good” because, in the end, it’s all in God’s hands and all I have to do is trust him.

Yes, life doesn’t look like I might have envisioned it years and decades ago when I dreamed of my adult life.  No, it’s not all full of roses.  There are times where things just get stressful with everything we are dealing with.  There are times where I am short with my husband and kids.  And there are even times when a sense of melancholy might come upon me for a short time as my heart contemplates all that is going on. 

Does that mean that my answer is going to be negative?

No.

Because even in my sadness, He is there.

Even in my brokeness, the Cross still stands.

In my times of weariness, He will carry me.

When all is taken away, I will still have Him.

So, if you ask me how my family is doing right now, don’t think that my saying “we are doing good” is me not being real.  If we have some time to sit and chat, I’ll open up the world to you and share all that I can.  If we don’t have the time, just know that we are okay, because we are trusting in God.

Don’t be sad for my family.

Instead, celebrate with us, as God continues to provide all of our needs, each and every day.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 20, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
