RSS

Traveling Food

27 Jun

Well, my trip with my daughter to sunny California is fast approaching!  I am sooooo looking forward to this time with her. 🙂  I’m trying to process through food while I’m gone.  I’ve looked at the menu for the hotel we are staying at, and the prices will make it impossible to eat there at all meals.  This is a bummer for me because at an upscale restaurant, I know that I could order food that I can eat.

So, I’m not stressing over the food, I’m just not sure how much I’ll be able to find to eat.  There is a food court in a mall close by, and I have found that I can eat McDonald’s Bacon Ranch salad with grilled chicken and no dressing.  Well, let’s say that of the 4 times that I’ve eaten that, only once did it cause me problems!  I think there is a grocery store in the same mall, and so I’m thinking of some things I could buy.  Knowing we will be possibly standing in lines for a while and not anywhere where I could make food, means I need to have portable energy on hand for me.

My plan thus far consists of this:

  • Hopefully I can eat a big egg/veggie/fruit breakfast each morning.  This will carry me a long way in the day.
  • I’ll be making a huge batch of Energy Bites.  I’m thinking I can eat those throughout the day to give me boosts when needed.
  • I might bake something else like cookies or cinnamon rolls to take and keep in the hotel room.  It’s not ideal, but both of those contain natural sugar in the form of honey, and protein in the form of almonds.
  • If I can find some banana’s and apples I will carry one of those with me at all times.  Those are quick bursts of energy as well.

That’s all I’ve got so far.  I’ll have a very small fridge to use, so I really can’t take much food with me.  I’m playing with fire a bit, going and not knowing how I’ll be able to feed myself, but I’m not worried.  I’ve come to know my body pretty well, and know how I can survive on just a few things for a few days, when needed.

I just know that I’ll pig out when I come home!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 27, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
