RSS

What do you miss?

20 Jul

I had a good friend ask me the other day, “do you really miss any of the foods you can’t eat because of the Crohn’s?”  My answer….everything!

Rice…..I would love to have a bowl of rice.  And bread….oh my gosh what I wouldn’t give for some fresh, fluffy, white bread!!!  Chinese food, Mexican food, Thai Food……any Fast Food (yes, I do miss McDonald’s and Burger King and Taco Bell and Subway….the once a month that I used to eat Fast Food is missed!!!).  Cake, cookies, chocolate, ice cream, pie (yes….I have a serious sweet tooth!).  Hot dogs.  Pepsi…..and ice-cold Pepsi….oh, man!!!  And honestly, there are so many other foods I used to eat that I miss but it’s been so long since I’ve had them that….I just can’t remember them anymore.

I love that I eat fresh and whole foods now, and I usually don’t ponder on the foods that I can’t eat anymore.  But yes, if I were to think about it, there is a lot that I miss that I just cannot eat.  Maybe someday, maybe soon.  But I just can’t risk my health with any of this other stuff yet.

But it’s okay.  I’ve lost so much weight that sometimes people don’t recognize me.  🙂  And when I am able to eat well, I’m satisfied.  So, yes, I miss a lot of things, but it doesn’t get me down.  I just eat what I can and love life in the process!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 20, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
