RSS

Furious

29 Jul

This Sunday my church is presenting “The Book of Eli” as a message.  It is going to be an amazing time, and I can’t wait!  One of the songs that we are singing before the message is “Furious,” and for some reason this week I’ve had trouble sinking that song and the words in my heart.  I know my energy has been through the toilet this week, and it’s just been hard to do much of anything, let alone memorize a new-to-me song that seems to use the same words over and over again.  Ugh….

So this afternoon I took some time to sit on my porch with a cup of coffee, my IPOD, and the lyrics to the song.  I started at the beginning, and tried to find the way that these words could sink into my heart.  The verses have beautiful picture words such as “glimpsed, whispers, passion, pouring out, lavishes, reaching out….”  Great words that create a wonderful story.  But what finally did it was the chorus, and realizing the word pictures that go with it, in my heart:

His love is deep, His love is wide, And it covers us

His love is fierce, His love is strong, It is furious

His love is sweet, His love is wild

And it’s waking hearts to life

I smiled as the pictures came.

His love is deep, His love is wide, And it covers usThe ocean.  I love the ocean.  The vastness of it cannot be understood nor comprehended completely.  The depths of it go deeper than our highest mountains.  The power is unfathomable.  It covers everything, transforming it with power and grace and mystery.  And when you listen, the sweetest music is created in the crashing of the waves.

His love is fierce, His love is strong, it is furious.  A Lion.  The mightiest of all the animals.  Strong and fierce, it protects its family and it’s land with a power great enough to shake any being down to the core.  All other animals cower when faced with its mighty roar.  It is also noble and majestic.  I picture this lion on the top of the highest rock, surveying all His domain with pride, love, and strength.  Nothing can stop the Lion.

His love is sweet, His love is wild, And it’s waking hearts to life.  The wildflower .  I’m walking through a meadow of wild flowers.  The scent is so delicious it almost overpowers me, but in a very subtle way.  The colors pierce to my heart with their brilliance and LIFE.  You cannot walk here without feeling alive, refreshed, and new.

With these word pictures, this song has come alive for me, and I can’t wait to sing it on Sunday.  Couple this with the message that is going to come from “The Book of Eli,” and this is sure to be an amazing day!

The Rock Church, Monroe.  9:30 and 11:30.  See you there, even if you have to skip church at your normal place.  🙂

It will be worth it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
