RSS

Calling the doc….

03 Aug

Okay, I thought I could wait until my doctor appointment next week to check on my thyroid levels, but I think I need to give him a call today.  I’m pretty sure my thyroid is low again, and has been for at least a couple of weeks, though the symptoms are just now starting to make me nervous.  Why do I think that?

First is because of the fatigue.  I’ve been sleeping 10 hours a night for over a week now, if not more, and yet I still wake up tired and sluggish for the rest of the day.  This is not normal for me.

Second, I have gained weight over the past month, and I have done nothing different in my eating patterns.  This is a check-point for me because, with Crohn’s, the body does not absorb all the nutrients it needs from the food you take in, therefore leading to a sort of malnutrition.  For me, this has meant that no matter what I did, I could not gain any weight.  Not a bad thing to have, unless you realize that the reason is because of the body not getting what it needs!

Third, my brain just feels sluggish at times, and it’s hard to get my words and thoughts out.

Fourth, I’ve had a few “blue” days.  This really bugs me because I know what they feel like, and think I should be able to do something about it like I have in the past (go for a walk, read a book, talk with a friend), but nothing works to bring it up.  I’m pretty sure this melancholy and lack of drive to do much of anything is related to the thyroid, but I’m still doing the things I know should help.

And last….I couldn’t sleep last night, even though I was very tired.  Insomnia, I’ve heard, can be a problem.  Great….I’m fatigued, yet I can’t sleep!!!

All total, I think it’s gone far enough.  I hope that my blood tests are in, and the doc can make a change in my meds before my Tuesday appointment.  I don’t like where this has taken me.  We dropped the meds down because my thyroid went crazy high 2 months ago.  But this is not getting me anywhere good, and it needs to stop.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
