RSS

Blood test results

04 Aug

Surprise!!!  My thyroid is low.  Coulda told ya that!  I was able to get in to see my doctor today to check on the recent blood test.  I didn’t want to wait until next week because it had already been 2 weeks-ish that I’ve been feeling like something wasn’t right.  I’m glad I got in there.  Turns out all my thyroid levels were low, as well as my iron.  No wonder I’ve been tired!

What that means in practicality is this:  3 months ago my thyroid went high, which put me on the level of a child who is amped up on Mt. Dew and sugar to the max.  I couldn’t sleep, my heart was racing, and I was having a high level of anxiety, which is NOT normal for me.  Now, with my thyroid low, it basically feels like I’ve crashed off a sugar high, but it lasts for days not just hours.  Take that same child and watch them melt after the sugar wears off.  That’s been me.  My energy is around 60% I’m guessing and I just can’t get enough sleep to feel rested.  My brain is sluggish and at times I can’t get my words out.  Being a mom, I can power through the day (it’s just what we do!) but it doesn’t make it easy.  It means that at times I have no energy left to do much beyond the normal day-to-day running of the house.  I do not like it, especially during the summer, when I want and crave to be active.

Now, on the technical side, it means this:  My T3, T4, AND TSH were all low.  I myself am not sure what all those mean, but I’m guessing somebody does!  I have what’s called Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis, in addition to the Crohn’s.  Both are auto-immune diseases where the body has decided to fight itself, and it can’t figure out how to stop the attack.  Think friendly-fire in a war that cannot be shut off.  Right now, I’ve got a higher level of auto-immune response going against my thyroid.  That means, as far as I can understand, that my body is attacking the thyroid and it’s not working like it should.  We tried to supplement the Cytomel and Levoxyl with Armour (a natural thyroid supplement), but that didn’t work.  Apparently my body will attack anything that it thinks is from the thyroid, so a naturally derived thyroid supplement (hormone?) will not work.  I have to go back fully to the synthetic.  I don’t fully understand all of this yet (I hope to do some google research soon so I have a better grasp), but it just means that things are goofy once again.  With Hashimoto’s, which is a life-time disease, the thyroid can keep going crazy.  The hope is that we stabilize it, and it stays stabilized for a long amount of time.  The last time it was stable for about 9 months, and that was glorious.  I had energy, and felt like things were within my grasp to tackle.  We will retest my thyroid in 6 weeks this time.  The doc wants to avoid the yo-yo that goes back up, and so we will be keeping pretty tight tabs on things until we get it leveled out.

The funny part of the day happened as we were walking out of the grocery store and what my daughter connected in her brain.  She asked if I was mad at them, and I said no, that I was just tired.  I explained about the thyroid, and how when it’s low I can get really tired.  And she pipes up….”Well, mine must be HUGE because I always have a TON of energy!!!!!”

Yes you do, my lovely girl.  Yes, you do!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2011 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

2 responses to “Blood test results

  1. Anonymous

    August 4, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Hey Pam
    My husband has that too. He take thyroid meds. Do you get the same brand everytime? We were told once you start a specific brand to always get that one as they all are different even though they are the same dose. Don’t know if that helps. I hope so! Helen

     
  2. newfoundsun

    August 4, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Yep, I get the same thing. Because it was so high 3 months ago, we tried to mix in Armour with the two normal ones I take, but it seems to have backfired. So, back I go to the regular ones full time!

     

Leave a Reply

 
