RSS

Mexican Spinich Wraps

14 Aug

Last night I had some hamburger I needed to use up, and I was dying for a good-tasting Mexican dish.  Since 3 out of the 4 people in my family could not eat tortilla’s last night, I bought some fresh spinach leaves to wrap the meat and cheese up in.  The end result?  Amazing!  I just love dinners like this that are so simple yet oh so good.  🙂

The kicker that did it for me was the Boar’s Head brand Havartti cheese with jalapeno that I found at Fred Meyer.  That cheese is so delicious!  Of course, since this cheese is a treat for me, my family had to settle for regular cheddar for their wraps.  🙂

I cannot eat any pre-mixed spice mixes, and so I looked online and created my own Mexican spice mix that I added to the meat.  It was very mild but had a great Mexican flavor.  I like things a bit more spicy, so if I was cooking just for me I would probably add just a titch more of each spice.  But for my family who does not like overly spicy foods, this was perfect for them.  Here is what I did:

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp paprika

1/4 tsp cumin

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp salt

Dash of pepper

3-4 cloves of garlic, finely diced

1/4 cup white onion, finely diced

I cooked the onion and garlic over medium high heat in a cast-iron skillet for a minute or two to soften them and get some of the juices released.  I then just dumped the meat and all the spices in the pan, mixed well, and cooked until the meat was done.  For my son I simply put the cheese, meat, and spinach leaves in a tortilla.  For the rest of us, I took the best and biggest spinach leaves, put in some meat and cheese, rolled it up, and served.  It was great!  Next time I make this meat, I’ll probably make some homemade pico de gallo to add to it.  The dish didn’t need it, but I love a fresh pico de gallo and would love to add it to the flavor profile here.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 14, 2011 in Crohn's Journal, Main Dishes

 

Leave a Reply

 
