RSS

better….

01 Sep

Okay, this morning I was feeling better.  The pain only lasted about an hour yesterday (though that was quite enough!).  This morning my gut felt tender and sore, like you’d just done 100 sit-ups and had an upset stomach to boot.  I took it easy and all seemed to be getting back to normal.  But then I ate some more cauliflower taters for lunch, and within 3 1/2 hours the pain was back, so I’m guessing those were the culprit.  RATS!!!  I love the cauliflower mashed potatoes, and it is a treat for me.  If my body has decided, for whatever reason, to reject those now…..I’ll be a bit bummed.  I’ll wait a week or so and then try them again.  Tonight, my gut feels okay.  It’s still tender, and there are small twinges of minor pain every now and then.  Just enough to remind me that this disease is still here, inside of me.

Instead of solid food for dinner I made a veggie/fruit juice and drank that.  It had all sorts of good things in it, including ginger and parsley, which I’ve heard are anti-inflammatory foods.  I forgot the garlic, but I’m sure my family was fine with that.  I had a bit of homemade yogurt and blueberries later on, and those seemed to do fine.  I guess we’ll take tomorrow how it comes.  I’ve never had what most people would call a “flare” with this Crohn’s, and I feel blessed for that.  There is still some tension and fear, whenever something is not right inside of me, that my system could be going in that direction.  A serious flare could mean debilitating pain, hospital visits, or a host of other things that are simply not fun to deal with.  That’s one reason why I took the Tylenol PM last night….to just get my mind to rest.  I’m pretty good at shutting my brain off and not worrying about things (I’m pretty even-keel) but sometimes it doesn’t hurt to help that along just a bit!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
