RSS

Never Once….

17 Sep

There is a fabulous song we are singing this weekend at church called “Never Once.”  It’s only the second time I’ve heard this song, but I’ve fallen deeply in love with it.  It has a simple yet very deep message of God’s love for us as we walk through this life.

Never once did we ever walk alone

Never once did you leave us on our own

You are faithful, God, You are faithful

Not one single step in our lives was taken without Him by our side.  No, we might not always feel God walking next to us.  Sometimes it feels like we are walking in a desert without a drop of water and not a soul to be found on the horizon.  But the truth that I’ve found in this life is that, no matter where I’ve walked, He has always been there.  Through the good and the bad, His hand has always been on my life, with me every step of the way.

I believe this truth to the deepest part of my core.  A few years back, I had this message written on my leg, where I can always look down and remember what He has done.  It is a picture of two hands, my hands, cupped in a vision of giving and praise.  When I tell people about it, I tell them that God’s love for me is a very Pure and Simple love.  That in my life, these have been His hands, carrying me and holding me like you would a small bird.  His love will never leave me.  There is nothing that I can ever say or do to take His hands, and His love, away from me.  At the same time, my message is one of Pure and Simple love, trust, and worship.  Because He has never left me, I will never leave Him.  I will ALWAYS trust Him.  He has NEVER let me down.  And because He has been faithful, I will forever hold my hands up in surrender and worship to Him.  Pure and Simple….

Scars and struggles on the way

But with joy our hearts can say

Never once did we ever walk alone

Carried by Your constant grace

Held within Your perfect peace

Never once, no, we never walk alone

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 17, 2011 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
