RSS

Weeee……IV!!!

27 Sep

I got hooked up this morning for my first IV drip in about a year!  I had to drop them because of money, and the last one gave me a crippling migraine for 24 hours.  I was a bit nervous with this one as I wasn’t sure how my body would react to it.  We are only doing half-doses of all the good stuff, and we will slowly build my body back up to the full shebang.  I’m REALLY looking forward to being back on these fulltime again.  They give my body so many of the good things it needs (vitamins, minerals, anti-inflammatory drugs, and more!), and I believe they were instrumental in getting me back to health.

What are they?  It is called some big official name like “immunomodulation.”  It’s also called nutritional therapy because, with Crohn’s, your body does not absorb all the nutrients it needs and this gives it a boost, straight into the veins.  We needed to get me back on these because of the Hashimoto’s auto-immune response going on inside of me right now.  It’s back up to levels that indicate a pretty decent attack is happening against my thyroid, and we want to stop it before it gets much worse.

In the meantime….my body seems to be reacting well to this one.  No hint of a headache.  Hooray!  They one thing I forgot about was the boost in energy.  I feel like I’m racing around and have so much energy, which is great!  I just don’t have enough hands and arms to take advantage of it.  Sometimes, after these shots, I feel so….normal again.  I have a “real” amount of energy to work with.  I forget how tired the Crohn’s can make me….

The other funky thing about these shots, and I’ll just be real here….is the flourescent pee.  I’m not kidding!  For some reason it’s just really, really, really, fluorescent yellow for about a day.  Probably TMI for some of you, but that’s okay.  I like to be real.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2011 in Crohn's Journal, Doctor Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
