RSS

Turkey Chili

22 Oct

It’s been almost 2 years since I’ve had Chili, and with the weather turning cold, I just had to try!  I know it’s a pretty simple thing…to make chili.  But when dealing with Crohn’s, or other digestive disorders, you have to be careful with every new recipe you try, and usually have to modify it to some extent in order to make it work.  After taking an online recipe and tweaking it, I will say that I ended up having a great big batch of yummy chili goodness!!!  I didn’t mean to make as big of a pot as I did, but that’s fine…..I’ll just freeze a bunch of it in single servings and save it for later this winter.  🙂

I wanted beans in my recipe, and since I can’t do canned beans, I went to the store and bought a handful of white beans, black beans, and kidney beans.  I prepared them the overnight way:  boil in plenty of water for 2-3 minutes, cover, and soak overnight.  The next day, drain the beans, fill with water again, and simmer for 2 hours-ish.  I’ve been told that making the beans this way takes a lot of the gassy-ness out of them, and it seems to have worked.  I didn’t have any bad reactions to the beans.  Hooray!!!

After the beans, here’s what I did:

  • Heat a tablespoon or two of olive oil in a big pot.  Add 4 or 5 finely diced garlic cloves and 1 medium diced white onion.  Cook for about 5 minutes.
  • Add spices.  I used 1 tbsp chili powder, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper.  (This was a bit too little spice for me, so I added a pinch more of each of these until it had the right flavor.  Use these measurements as a base-line and then add more of whatever you think it needs!)
  • Add 1 pound of ground meat (I used ground turkey this time) and cook until done
  • Pour in (2) 11.5 ounce cans of Campbell’s Tomato Juice from concentrate.  I find these at Winco for about $.75 each, and they are great to use in place of tomato sauce, which often has other stuff added that I cannot do.
  • Cut up about 5 tomatoes.  Throw them in the pot.
  • Dice up finely 2 stalks of celery.  Throw it in the pot.
  • Chop up one green pepper.  Throw it in the pot.
  • Drain and rinse the beans.  Throw them in the pot
  • Stir everything well, cover, bring to a simmer, and let cook for about an hour.  Stir occasionally.

I served this with plenty of cheese, dripped yogurt (for sour cream), garlic bread for the kids, and Quick Crackers for me.  When my husband came home he grabbed a bunch of my quick crackers, layered butter and garlic salt on top, and proceeded to use that as a spoon for the chili and cheese.  He didn’t waste any time putting away a big bowl of this!!!  Though the kids didn’t like this (they are not fond of new foods), my husband and I both felt very satisfied with the flavor and consistency of this chili.  It is one that I will come back to again the future, for sure!

And on the Crohn’s note….I had no gas, and no other adverse symptoms.  So…this recipe is a WIN for me!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in Crohn's Journal, Main Dishes, Recipes

 

Leave a Reply

 
