RSS

Garlic Herb Crackers

16 Nov

A staple in my house is this recipe, which is for crackers made with almonds (I cannot eat any store-bought crackers).  This works great for me when I need a crunchy, salty treat.  I’ve also used these for taco night, pizza night, a quick snack with almond butter and honey, and a bunch of other things.  I love it that they are so versatile!!!  My husband also loves them, and my kids clamor for them whenever I make them.  A win-win recipe, for sure!

So last night my daughter mentioned garlic bread.  Since I cannot have your typical garlic bread, I decided to take my basic Quick Cracker recipe and modify it to see if I could get a garlicky-bread flavor.  I added some fresh parsley to it, but you could add whatever herb you want to mix the flavor up a bit.  I loved this version, though my husband likes them the normal way (he likes them simple, which just butter on top!).

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup almonds, ground up (it’s okay if they are not ground fine)
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (cheddar is great for the basic recipe…it blends in with everything)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cloves garlic, put through that little garlic tool that gets the juice out 🙂
  • 1/2 cup fresh parsley, finely cut up
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • fresh ground pepper

Simply add everything together and mix well.  Then lay out a sheet of parchment paper cut to the size of your rectangle cookie sheet.  Put the mixture on the paper, then put another sheet of parchment paper on top.  Take a rolling pin and roll the mixture until it is pretty thin, but even, and is about the same size as the cookie sheet.  Take the top sheet of parchment paper off, place the other one with the rolled out mixture on it onto the cookie sheet, and pop it in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes.  Check on it at 10 minutes.  You want the edges to be turning a good brown, so bake for another 2-3 minutes until they are brown and the middle looked slightly less brown.  Be careful though as this can get overdone easily, and isn’t as tasty.  If you undercook it, the crackers simply won’t be as crunchy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2011 in Breads, Crohn's Journal, Recipes, Sides

 

Leave a Reply

 
