RSS

Where to begin?

21 Jan

After hearing of another person close to me being diagnosed with a digestive condition, I thought back to how I began this journey to healing foods and eating. In reality, it began with the GI doctor telling me, in my sedated-haze, that diet plays no role in Crohn’s. I had to ask him that same question 3 times, because what he was telling me just didn’t make sense. How could diet NOT play a role in how your body is dealing with foods? So, I took what he was telling me (immune suppressing drugs and steroids were the possible treatment, with no guarantee they would work), and went the opposite direction.

First, I dug into Jordan Rubin’s story of how he dealt with Crohn’s through supplements and foods. I believe it was his protocol that led me to take everything, and I mean just about everything, out of my diet for 3 weeks straight. I made this Chicken Soup , and ate it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also had goat’s milk yogurt, Keifer milk, and lots of water. That’s it. For 3 weeks. Yes, it got boring. But it was what my body needed. With the extreme amount of inflammation that was in my gut, taking everything out and just eating easy to digest foods gave my gut a break. It allowed my system to rest, and reset. In essence, I detoxed myself from all the junk, preservatives, toxins, etc. that were running around in me. And all the natural, good-for-you ingredients in the soup helped calm the inflammation down to a point where I could build upon.

From the 3 weeks of chicken soup, I slowly began to add new foods. I would try a new food about once a week. I would cook it very soft, and not try too much. If I didn’t have a bad reaction (gas, cramps, diarrhea), then I would put it in my “safe” list. If I did have symptoms, I put it in my “no-go” list, where it sat off-limits for 6 months or so, where I might or might not try it again. In this way, I was able to work from the ground up, and create my diet that worked for me and my gut.

Looking back, I really didn’t know what I was doing in just eating the chicken soup, but it really was the best thing. If I would have tried anything else in terms of diet control, I would have been guessing each and every time if it was this spice, or that meat, or that vegetable. With literally introducing even a new spice, and that’s it, I was truly able to nail-down what I can and cannot eat.

That’s about it. That’s where I started. I keep making the Chicken Soup. I usually always have a few quarts frozen in the freezer, ready to thaw and eat. If I hear of someone being sick, I try to get them some of the soup. No, I don’t think it’s a miracle cure. I just believe in what it did for me, in letting the system rest so it can recover.

Plus, it’s just a really good, simply, soup. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2012 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
