RSS

Stuck!

01 Feb

Oh, this was soooo not good.  I was asked to substitute Kindergarten in the morning today, so I only packed a small snack of almonds and not a full lunch, thinking I would be home and have some soup.  I was only at school for an hour when I was asked to sub for a 6th grade teacher in the afternoon that had an emergency.  Of course I said yes, but that left me needing to have energy enough to teach for an entire day….on just a handful on almonds.  Overall, that doesn’t sound like a bad day.  But…..I of course needed more fuel for my body…coffee wouldn’t get me all the way through….and then the donuts showed up.  A girl in the 6th grade class had a birthday, and the treats her parents brought in were maple donuts.  Yep….that’s not good for me!  I tried to resist, and actually told the guy I could only eat a little.  He said to take a whole one because the rest would just be thrown away.  So, I took a full doughnut.  I ate half.  Then had some coffee, applesauce, and carrots.  I could have survived on just that.  But….the other half of the doughnut just stared at me on the desk.  I finally couldn’t say no, and ate the rest.  It was oh so good….but I can feel a bit of cramping going on now, a few hours later.  I knew I would pay the price, but…part of me wants to say it was understandable….I had to get through the day, right???  But, in reality, it won’t be worth it.  In the short-term, with my body, and in the long-term, with my willpower to resist, knowing I’ve broken down yet again.  I got through the day, but at what price?  I guess we’ll see later tonight and tomorrow.  I have learned my lesson though.  I will get some granola bars that I know I can eat, and will keep them in my car for those moments I am away from home, and need to get something to eat.  I can’t turn down work, but need to make concessions for my diet needs.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 1, 2012 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a Reply

 
