RSS

Waiting for Mexico

19 Jun

In a shot time my family and I will be going to Mexico for a missions trip with our church.  If you were to ask me how I was feeling about the trip, I would place any concerns about having Crohn’s way low on the list.  It almost feels a bit odd….to not be worrying.  I guess some people believe I must be crazy, to go to a foreign country where diarrhea is common-place in tourists, with a disease inside me whose main complaint often is copious amounts of the big D all day long (though that is not how my Crohn’s acts inside of me, thankfully!).  Maybe I should ask it of myself…..”self, are you crazy???”

Nah, not in the least.  🙂

Here’s why:

I live my life based on and in the belief that I have a God in heaven who loves me beyond measure.  A God who would and HAS given me everything, including his own son.  I have seen His hand in my life and the life of my family.  I know without a shadow of a doubt that His hand will be on us the entire time, and that no matter what happens, He will be there.  That doesn’t mean that everything will be all peaches and roses on this trip or in life.  It simply means that I have a faith in My God that will not be shaken because I believe in Him and his ultimate ability to take care of anything that may come into my life.  Amen.  🙂

That said, I’m not afraid to go.  I will be taking some foods with me (mainly Lara Bars) because I do believe that we have to do our part and not be stupid.  I’ll be careful while I’m there, and the rest….I’ll just trust in God.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2010 in Crohn's Journal

 

Leave a comment